HIO Orientations

Welcome to Harvard! Now that you have arrived (or will soon arrive) in the Greater Boston area, here are some activities to help you settle in! 

Virtual Group Orientation - "Getting Started - Part 1"

The HIO group orientation "Getting Started - Part 1" covers covers banking, social security numbers, health insurance, housing, travel, shopping, and more. The session lasts about two hours.

The orientations will take place virtually via Zoom on the following dates and times:

  • Thursday, September 30 from 1 pm - 3 pm EDT
  • Thursday, October 7 from 10 am - 12 pm EDT
  • Wednesday, October 20 from 1 pm - 3 pm EDT
  • Thursday, November 4 from 10 am - 12 pm EDT
  • Thursday, November 18 from 10 am - 12 pm EST
  • Thursday, December 2 from 10 am - 12 pm EST

To attend the session, please log on to Zoom at the stated time, using the link below:

Meeting Link 

Password: HIOZoom

Virtual Group Orientation - "Getting Started - Part 2"

The HIO group orientation "Getting Started - Part 2" is for students and scholars who attended Part 1 and have follow-up questions regarding the topics covered in that session and/or questions regarding U.S. cultural concepts, English pronunciations (ex. “how do you pronounce Worcester?”), or things to do in the local area. It is intended to be an interactive session lasting about one hour.

The orientations will take place virtually via Zoom on the following dates and times:

  • Tuesday, September 28 from 10 am - 11 am EDT
  • Tuesday, October 5 from 1 pm - 2 pm EDT
  • Tuesday, October 12 from 10 am - 11 am EDT
  • Thursday, October 28 from 1 pm - 2 pm EDT
  • Wednesday, November 10 from 1 pm - 2 pm EST
  • Tuesday, November 23 from 10 am - 11 am EST
  • Tuesday, December 7 from 10 am - 11 am EST

To attend the session, please log on to Zoom at the stated time, using the link below:

Meeting Link

Password: HIOZoom

Harvard Tours

These are tours led by undergraduates of the College.  The tour covers Harvard Yard, some of the undergraduate housing, history, and urban legend.  Please register for these tours through the Information Office.